Saturday, July 21, 2007

Stage 13 - Saturday, July 21: Albi - Albi, 54km

Alexander Vinokourov, stitches and all, wins the first individual time trial of the Tour.
Dane Michael Rasmussen did well enough to retain his overall lead by 1 minute over Aussie Cadel Evans.
Spainard Alberto Contador did extremly well to move into 3rd place overall.
Levi is still in contention while he finished 2:39 down on Vino.
Today was an amazing day in the 2007 edition of the Tour de France. A few favorites such as Alejandro Valverde cracked and lost serious amounts of time. Michael Rasmussen pulled off the time trial of his life to keep his yellow jersey by 1 minute. The greatest spectacle of the day was Kazakh Alexander Vinokourov and his time trial. Vino has been riding with 50 stitches in his knees and trying to keep himself in overall contention. All that seem bleak on the roads of the Alps last week, where Vino lost serious amounts of time. However, this morning he produced something great and destroyed the rest of the field with an amazing show of strength, courage, and determination. Do not rule this man out over the next week. He may be down 5 minutes, but he is an attacking rider and the Pyrenees will bring out the best, or worst, in everyone. It is still a very much wide open tour. Do not miss a stage.

Stage 13
1. Alexander Vinokourov (Kz), Astana, 54km in 1:06:35
2. Cadel Evans (Aus), Predictor-Lotto, at 1:14
3. Andréas Klöden (G), Astana, at 1:39
4. Andrey Kashechkin (Kz), Astana, at 1:44
5. Bradley Wiggins (GB), Cofidis, at 2:146
. Yaroslav Popovych (Ukr), Discovery Channel, 2:16
7. Alberto Contador (Sp), Discovery Channel, 2:18
8. Sylvain Chavanel (F), Cofidis, 2:38
9. Levi Leipheimer (USA), Discovery Channel, 2:39
10. Mikel Astarloza (Sp), Euskaltel-Euskadi, 2:42

Overall after 13 stages
1. Michael Rasmussen (Dk), Rabobank, 58:46:39
2. Cadel Evans (Aus), Predictor-Lotto, at 1:00
3. Alberto Contador (Sp), Discovery, at 2:31
4. Andréas Klöden (G), Astana, at 2:34
5. Levi Leipheimer (USA), Discovery Channel, at 3:37
6. Andrey Kashechkin (Kz), Astana, at 4:23
7. Carlos Sastre (Sp), CSC, at 4:45
8. Mikel Astarloza (Sp), Euskaltel-Euskadi, at 5:07
9. Alexander Vinokourov (Kz), Astana, at 5:10
10. Kim Kirchen (Lux), T-Mobile, at 5:29

No comments: